Bloder-Sauerkäse AOP

Bloder-Sauerkäse AOP

Product description

Block shaped
Loaf weight 100 g bis 8 kg
Through the maturing process a gelatinous „fat layer“ growing inwards develops in the sour cheese and which is also edible.
 

Registration: 18.02.2010

Branch organisation

Verein Sauerkäse – Bloderkäse
Landwirtschaftliches Zentrum SG
Rheinhofstrasse 11
9465 Salez

T 058 228 24 21

hans.oppliger(at)sg.ch
www.toggenburgonline.ch/sauerkaese
www.sauerkaese.ch
www.bloderkaese.ch

Geographical Region

The geographic region of the Bloderkäse-Sauerkäse PDO includes twelve municipalities in the canton of St. Gallen (Wartau, Sevelen, Buchs, Grabs, Gams, Sennwald, Wildhaus, Alt St. Johann, Stein, Nesslau-Krummenau, Ebnat-Kappel and Amden) and all municipalities of the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Production

The processed milk must not be older than 24 hours and must come from a farm which is situated not further away than 30 km from the manufacturing factory. The milk is skimmed in a natural or mechanical way and filled into a copper or a chrome steel kettle. Thereafter, it is heated to 55° to 69°. When the milk is curdled and becomes gelatinous, it is processed further. According to need, salt is added. Salt is the only additive allowed. The milk is heated again and then filled manually into rectangular shaped containers of plastic, metal or wood. After pressing the cheese is salted again. The Bloderkäse PDO can be wrapped and marketed immediately after production, however, at the latest after 21 days. On the contrary, the maturing process of the sour cheese PDO is subject to a drying process, and it can be wrapped and marketed only after two months.

History

According to tradition the manufacture of sour cheese comes from the nomad populations in the East and is probably the most original way of making cheese. It can be traced back to the Middle Age and has preserved itself for centuries in the Principality of Liechtenstein, in Werdenberg and Toggenburg, as well as in Vorarlberg. The Pre-Alpine region is characterised by high rainfall and difficult topographic conditions. Because of the long distance to travel to reach the valley at that time and the lack of roads and means of transporation for the milk, the farmers were obliged to process the milk on location. The manufacture of sour cheese and „Bloderkäse“ was the most appropriate for this purpose.

Zum Inhalt springen
die Herkunft
Menschen
und ihr Handwerk
die Qualitätszeichen
Bloder_Sauerkaese_S_1.jpg
Bloder_Sauerkaese_S_2.jpg

Geografisches Gebiet

Das geografische Gebiet des Bloderkäse-Sauerkäse AOP umfasst zwölf Gemeinden des Kantons St. Gallen (Wartau, Sevelen, Buchs, Grabs, Gams, Sennwald, Wildhaus, Alt St. Johann, Stein, Nesslau-Krummenau, Ebnat-Kappel und Amden) und alle Gemeinden des Fürstentums Liechtenstein.

Herstellung

Die verarbeitete Milch darf nicht älter als 24 Stunden sein und muss von einem Hof kommen, der höchstens 30 km vom Produktionsbetrieb entfernt ist. Die Milch wird auf natürliche oder mechanische Art entrahmt und in Kupfer- oder Chromstahlkessi gefüllt. Danach wird sie auf 55° bis 69° C gewärmt. Wenn die Milch geronnen und gallertartig ist, wird sie weiterverarbeitet. Je nach Bedarf wird Salz hinzugefügt. Salz ist der einzige zugelassene Zusatzstoff. Die Milch wird nochmals aufgewärmt und dann von Hand in quaderförmige Behälter aus Kunststoff, Metall oder Holz gefüllt. Nach dem Pressen wird der Käse nochmals gesalzen. Der Bloderkäse AOP kann sofort nach der Produktion spätestens aber nach 21 Tage verpackt und verkauft werden. Hingegen unterliegt die Reifung des Sauerkäse AOP einem Trocknungsprozess und er kann erst nach zwei Monaten verpackt und verkauft werden.

Geschichte

Der Überlieferung nach stammt die Sauerkäserei von den Nomadenvölkern im Osten und ist vermutlich die ursprünglichste Art der Käseherstellung. Sie kann bis ins Mittelalter nachgewiesen werden und hat sich über die Jahrhunderte im Fürstentum Liechtenstein, im Werdenberg und Toggenburg sowie auch im Vorarlberg erhalten. Das Voralpengebiet ist geprägt durch hohe Niederschläge und ungünstige topographische Verhältnisse. Durch die damals langen Wege ins Tal und die fehlenden Strassen und Transportmittel für die Milch, waren die Bauern gezwungen die Milch an Ort und Stelle zu verarbeiten. Die Herstellung von Sauerkäse und Bloderkäse eignete sich hierfür am besten.