Zum Inhalt springen
The origin
People
and their handiwork
The quality symbols.

Rheintaler Ribelmais AOP

Geographical Region

The geographical region includes the St. Gallen districts of Unterrheintal, Oberrheintal, Werdenberg, Sargans, the Grison municipalities Fläsch, Maienfeld, Landquart, Jenins, Malans, Zizers, Untervaz, as well as the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Production

The Rheintaler Ribelmais PDO is produced from an old, open-pollinated country corn variety of great genetic diversity, still maintained today. The sowing takes place at mid-May at the latest. Harvest takes place at the end of October / beginning of November and can be done manually or by means of combine harvesters. The corn grains are washed in the mill. Subsequently the corn is ground on rollers or in a stoneground until it reaches the desired fineness. The Rheintaler Ribelmais PDO is either a mix of semolina, coarse-grained flour and flour, or a mix of corn semolina and corn coarse-grained flour, an individual product of corn semolina or corn coarse-grained flour.

History

The beginnings of the corn cultivation in the Rhine Valley are difficult to specify. The spreading of the corn passed over Italy. In the origins and the documents of the Rhine Valley, the corn appeared regularly for food purposes since the middle of the 17th century. In the 19th century the corn of the Rhine Valley became the most important type of cereal as basic food. With the beginning of the 20th century, with exception for the two World War periods, the cereal culture surface in the Rhine Valley, corn included, diminished continuously. In 1997, the cultivation of the corn variety used for the Rheintaler Ribelmais PDO still amounted to about 4 hectares, whereby a large part was used for self supply. Extra hard, full-fat cheese from raw cow's milk.

Zum Inhalt springen
die Herkunft
Menschen
und ihr Handwerk
die Qualitätszeichen
Rheintaler_Ribelmais_S_1.jpg
Rheintaler_Ribelmais_S_2.jpg
Rheintaler_Ribelmais_S_3.jpg

Geografisches Gebiet

Das geografische Gebiet umfasst die St. Galler Bezirke Unterrheintal, Oberrheintal, Werdenberg, Sargans, die Bündner Gemeinden Fläsch, Maienfeld, Landquart, Jenins, Malans, Zizers, Untervaz sowie das Fürstentum Liechtenstein.

Herstellung

Rheintaler Ribelmais AOP wird aus einer alten, offen abblühenden Mais-Landsorte mit einer bis heute erhaltenen grossen genetischen Vielfalt hergestellt. Die Aussaat erfolgt bis spätestens Mitte Mai. Die Ernte erfolgt Ende Oktober / Anfang November. Die Ernte kann von Hand oder mit Mähdreschern erfolgen. In der Mühle werden die Maiskörner gereinigt. Anschliessend wird der Mais auf Walzenstühlen oder einer Steinmühle bis zur gewünschten Feinheit gemahlen. Rheintaler Ribelmais AOP ist entweder eine Mischung aus Griess, Dunst und Mehl oder eine Mischung aus Maisgriess und Maisdunst, Maisdunst und Maismehl oder ein Einzelprodukt aus Maisgriess oder Maisdunst.

Geschichte

Die Anfänge des Maisanbaues im Rheintal lassen sich nicht exakt bestimmen. Die Ausbreitung des Mais erfolgte über Italien. In den Quellen und Urkunden des Rheintals taucht der Mais zu Speisezwecken regelmässig seit Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts auf. Im 19. Jahrhundert wurde der Mais im Rheintal als Grundnahrungsmittel die wichtigste Getreideart. Mit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts nahm im Rheintal die Getreide- inkl. Maisfläche, mit Ausnahme der beiden Weltkriegsperioden, laufend ab. Der Anbau, der für den Rheintaler Ribelmais AOP verwendeten Maissorte betrug 1997 noch ca. 4 Hektaren, wobei ein wesentlicher Teil der Selbstversorgung diente.