Tête de Moine AOP

Tête de Moine AOP

Product description

Cylindrical loaf of 10 to 15 cm diameter
Weight 0.7 to 0.9 kg
Semi-hard cheese
The cheese is scraped to fine rosettes by means of a girolle (scraper).

Registration

08.05.2001

contact

Interprofession Tête de Moine
Rue de l‘Envers 16
2610 St-Imier

T 032 941 77 77

info(at)tetedemoine.ch
www.tetedemoine.ch
tetedemoine
tete_de_moine_aop

Geographical Region

The geographical region includes the mountain area and the summer pastures enclosed therein, the districts of the Freiberge, Pruntrut, Moutier und Courtelary, the municipality Saulcy, as well as the parcel of land belonging to the cheese dairy Courgenay.

Production

The Tête de Moine AOP/PDO, Fromage de Bellelay, is produced from raw milk. In summer, the milk cows are fed mainly on grass, in winter on hay. The administering of silage food is prohibited over the whole year. The milk must be processed within 24 hours after milking. It is caseated in a copper kettle. After pressing of the cheese curd the cheese loaf is tagged with a casein mark to ensure traceability and plunged into a salt water bath for at least 12 hours. During the maturing time the cheese is regularly treated with salt water. Each loaf must mature for at least 75 days on spruce plank in the geographical region.

History

Tête de Moine as designation has been known since about 1790. However, the cheese has a much longer history. Already in 1192 the monks in Bellelay Abbey were mentioned for their cheese for the first time. With the invention of the girolle by a Jurassian precision mechanic in 1981 a new chapter of the Tête de Moine history was initiated. Since the day it was introduced, it has been sold 2.5 million times.

Zum Inhalt springen
die Herkunft
Menschen
und ihr Handwerk
die Qualitätszeichen
Tete_de_Moine_S_1.jpg
Tete_de_Moine_S_2.jpg
Tete_de_Moine_S_3.jpg

Geografisches Gebiet

Das geografische Gebiet umfasst das Berggebiet und das darin eingeschlossene Sömmerungsgebiet der Bezirke Freiberge, Pruntrut, Moutier und Courtelary, die Gemeinde Saulcy sowie die Parzelle der Käserei Courgenay.

Herstellung

Der Tête de Moine AOP, Fromage de Bellelay, wird aus Rohmilch hergestellt. Die Milchkühe werden im Sommer hauptsächlich mit Gras, im Winter hauptsächlich mit Heu gefüttert. Die Verabreichung von siliertem Futtermittel ist das ganze Jahr über untersagt. Die Milch muss innerhalb von 24 Stunden nach der Gewinnung verarbeitet werden. Sie wird in einem Kupferkessi verkäst. Nach dem Pressen des Käsebruchs wird der Käselaib mit einer Kaseinmarke zur Sicherstellung der Rückverfolgbarkeit versehen und während mindestens 12 Stunden in ein Salzwasserbad getaucht. Der Käse wird während der Reifung regelmässig mit Salzwasser behandelt. Jeder Laib muss während mindestens 75 Tagen auf Fichtenbrettern im geografischen Gebiet reifen.

Geschichte

Tête de Moine als Bezeichnung kennt man seit ca. 1790. Der Käse weist jedoch eine viel längere Geschichte auf. Schon 1192 wurden die Mönche aus dem Kloster Bellelay erstmals im Zusammenhang mit Käse erwähnt. Mit der Erfindung der Girolle im Jahr 1981 durch einen jurassischen Feinmechaniker wurde ein neues Kapitel der Tête de Moine-Geschichte eingeleitet. Seit ihrer Einführung verkaufte sie sich 2,5 Millionen Mal.