Zum Inhalt springen
The origin
People
and their handiwork
The quality symbols.

Glarner Kalberwurst IGP

Geographical Region

The geographical region is the canton of Glarus. Birth, fattening, slauthering and butchering of the cows and pigs take place exclusively in Switzerland. The white bread comes exclusively from the canton of Glarus.

Production

The meat, the bacon, ice, salt and spices are cut finely very quickly, then the white bread is added. This so-called « Brätmasse » (mix) is filled into cow intestines. The sausages are scalded in hot water and water steam at min. 68°C, then chilled with cold water. The Glarner Kalberwurst PGI distinguishes itself from comparable veal sausages particularly through the addition of white bread.

History

The oldest traceable evidence of the production of the Glarner Kalberwurst (veal sausage from Glarus) is about 150 years old. In the description "The canton of Glarus » from 1846 the authors already mention the Kalberwurst (veal sausage) as « belonging to the country of Glarus »). The addition of white bread is a traditional component of the recipe and can probably be traced back to the fact that in the hunger years at the beginning of the 19th century, the butchers of Glarus extended the meat, rare at the time, with old bread. The other guess is that through the addition of white bread, eggs and milk, a luxury version of the sausage was created. As the recipe of the scalded sausage enriched with bread was strongly contested at the beginning of the 20th century, the exact sausage content was defined by law in 1920 at the Landsgemeinde (gathering of the electorates). At the federal level, however, the Swiss Food Law of 1905 and the Food Ordinance of 1936 prohibited the addition of non-meat ingredients. After a long struggle the butchers of Glarus were allowed, from 1957 on, to produce the sausages according to a special permit specified by the Swiss Food Law according to the original Glarus recipe. The controversy over the Glarner Kalberwurst took an end in 1992, as the Swiss Food Law finally allowed addition of bread to the sausage (Wurstbrät).

Zum Inhalt springen
des terroirs
des hommes
et leur savoir-faire
des signes d’excellence
Glarner_Kalberwurst_S_1.jpg
Glarner_Kalberwurst_S_2.jpg

Zone d'origine

L'aire géographique de la «Glarner Kalberwurst IGP» est le canton de Glaris. La naissance, l'engraissement et l'abattage des veaux et des porcs ont lieu exclusivement en Suisse. La provenance du pain blanc est le canton de Glaris.

Le savoir-faire

La Glarner Kalberwurst IGP est composée de viande, de lard, de glace, de sel et d'épices mélangées et finement hachées à l'aide d'un «Blitz»ou «Kutter». On y ajoute ensuite du pain blanc. On embosse la chair à saucisse dans de boyaux naturels. Les Glarner Kalberwürste IGP sont échaudées dans de l'eau chaude ou à la vapeur à la température de 68°C au moins. Après l'échaudage, les produits sont immédiatement refroidis avec de l'eau.

L'histoire

La Glarner Kalberwurst se distingue par une tradition de longue date. En effet, le plus ancien témoignage écrit de sa fabrication dans le canton de Glaris date d'il y a environ 150 ans. Les auteurs du fascicule « Le canton de Glaris » de 1946 mentionnent déjà la « Kalberwurst »comme propre à ce canton. La particularité de la Glarner Kalberwurst réside dans sa composition. L'ajout de pain blanc, qui fait partie intégrante de la recette traditionnelle, s'explique probablement par le fait que durant les années de famine au début du 19e siècle, les bouchers glaronnais ajoutaient du pain blanc à la chair à saucisse pour allonger la viande, denrée rare à cette époque. Selon une autre hypothèse, c'est la variante de luxe de la saucisse qui se caractérise par l'ajout de pain blanc, d'œufs et de lait. La recette de la saucisse comprenant du pain blanc a été tellement controversée au début du 20e siècle que la « Landsgemeinde » a fixé en 1920 sa composition précise dans la loi. Cependant, la loi fédérale sur les denrées alimentaires de 1905 et l'ordonnance sur les denrées alimentaires de 1936 interdisaient l'ajout d'ingrédients non carnés. Après de longs efforts, les bouchers glaronnais ont obtenu une dérogation, inscrite dans la loi en 1957, pour la recette glaronnaise originale. Mais la controverse autour de la Glarner Kalberwurst ne s'est vraiment terminée qu'en 1992, lorsque l'ajout de pain à la chair à saucisse a été enfin autorisé en vertu de la loi sur les denrées alimentaires.