Zum Inhalt springen
The origin
People
and their handiwork
The quality symbols.
Munder_Safran_S_1.jpg
Munder_Safran_S_2.jpg

Geographical Region

The processing, drying and preparation of the stigmas take place exclusively in the municipalities of Mund, Birgisch, Naters, Brig-Glis, Betten, Bitsch, Bister, Filet, Gondo/Zwischbergen, Mörel, Riederalp, Ried-Brig, Simplon-Dorf and Termen. The cultivation region of Munder saffron PDO is limited to the meadows of the commune of Mund in the canton of Wallis.

Production

Munder saffron PDO is exclusively extracted from high quality crocus bulbs of the variety Crocus sativus L. All working steps of cultivation, harvest and drying of the stigmas are carried out manually, just as formerly. The planting of the bulbs must always take place at the latest at mid-September. The harvest of the flowers must be done exclusively by hand, from September to November, in a lapse of time not exceeding tree days after blossoming. The stigmas are removed from the flowers with the finger nails at the latest at the same day. They are dried in the open air for at least 48 hours, protected from the light. For storage, only small cans of glass are used. To obtain one gram of the sought after spice, almost 180 flowers are necessary.

History

Earlier, saffron was cultivated in several regions of Switzerland. Saffron culture is mentioned for the first time in the 14th century, in Basel. The saffron culture is based on long tradition in Oberwallis. In the communal archives the saffron cultures in Mund are mentioned for the first time 1870, but probably saffron was already cultivated there earlier. Today saffron culture exists in Mund only, where it continues to attract the interest of a great majority of the inhabitants. These have united to form a guild with the aim of preserving the local saffron production. The cultivation ist operated on a total surface of about 14'000 m2. Comment The harvest is marketed mainly through direct selling or handled by the shops and restaurants in the region.

Zum Inhalt springen
des terroirs
des hommes
et leur savoir-faire
des signes d’excellence
Munder_Safran_S_1.jpg
Munder_Safran_S_2.jpg

Zone d'origine

Le traitement et le séchage des pistils sont effectués exclusivement dans les municipalités de Mund, Birgisch, Naters, Brig-Glis, Betten, Bitsch, Bister, Filet, Gondo / Zwischbergen, Mörel, Riederalp, Ried-Brig, Simplon-Dorf et Termen. La zone de plantation du  Safran de Mund AOP est limitée aux champs de la commune de Mund dans le canton du Valais.

Le savoir-faire

Le safran de Mund AOP est obtenu exclusivement à partir de crocus de haute qualité de l'espèce Crocus sativus L. Toutes les étapes de la croissance, de la récolte et du séchage des pistils se font à la main, comme dans le passé. La plantation des oignons doit avoir lieu au plus tard à la mi-septembre. La récolte des fleurs doit être faite manuellement de septembre à novembre dans un délai maximum de trois jours après la floraison. Les pistils sont enlevés des fleurs au plus tard le même jour avec les ongles. Ils sont séchés à l'air pendant au moins 48 heures à l'abri de la lumière. Pour le stockage, on utilise de petites conserves en verre. Près de 180 fleurs sont nécessaires pour obtenir un gramme de l'épice désirée.

L'histoire

Dans le passé, le safran était cultivé dans plusieurs régions de la Suisse. La première mention de plantation de safran a eu lieu au 14ème siècle à Bâle. La culture du safran dans le Haut-Valais est basée sur une longue tradition. Dans les archives municipales, les cultures safraniques de Mund sont mentionnées pour la première fois en 1870, mais le safran y était probablement cultivé plus tôt. Aujourd'hui, la culture du safran n'a lieu plus qu'à Mund, où elle continue de susciter l'intérêt de la grande majorité de la population. Les producteurs se sont unis pour former une corporation dans le but de préserver la production locale du safran. La culture est exploitée sur une superficie totale d’environ 14 000 m2.

La récolte est principalement vendue par vente directe ou transformée par les artisans et les restaurants de la région.